PDA

View Full Version : Long Tube Sticking Out of Female Dubia's Behind

sweetmisery
11-27-2007, 09:51 AM
What is it? Sorry its my first time having them. Is this an eggsac? And if so, aint they live bearers? What else could it be?

Anyway it sticked out like half an inch or more earlier but now seem to went back inside its butt.

Mina
11-27-2007, 11:08 AM
Nothing to worry about. Yes they are live bearers, but they do produce eggcases which is what you saw. They make them, then let them out of ther bodies then take them back in. I don't know how to explain it better than that. Your dubia is fine, it will have babies soon.

sweetmisery
11-27-2007, 11:30 AM
Oh so its assured its preggy? THANKS! WOOT!

Chrysopid
11-27-2007, 11:34 AM
Congrats!! Is it time for a celebration?

sweetmisery
11-27-2007, 11:37 AM
LOL! When the babies are out. Ill tell you guys! Its just that crickets are really unpleasant as feeders; and dubias as I researched and read, are hardy and easier to keep. Doesnt stink too.

How long should I expect it to have nymphs though?

Mina
11-27-2007, 11:47 AM
I'm not sure. My dubias have bred really quickly for me. I saw a really noticeable increase in numbers in a short time. My T's just love them. I keep B. dubia and B. latteralis as feeders. The dubias are bigger, and the latteralis are smaller and faster. I feed depending on the T. My fast T's, H. mac juvie, P. regalis juvie, OBT juvie, I give some of each. The big T's get the dubias, smaller older T's get small dubias and young fast juvies get latteralis.
You will love them, they are great. Very little smell, breed fast, will eat anything, and T's love them.

sweetmisery
11-27-2007, 11:49 AM
Well I just started with 10 cuz here its expensive. $2 a piece. You think its enough to start a colony in a year?

Cheshire
11-27-2007, 01:12 PM
Blaptica dubia is oviviviparous.

bluefrogtat2
11-27-2007, 03:14 PM
i started with 25 less than a year ago and am overrun now.