Why do my Asian pedes always die?

tabor

Arachnoprince
Old Timer
OK, any pede I get from Asia seems to die within a week of me having it. This includes pedes that the dealer has had in captivity for 6+ mmonths.

Now, I have also kept S. alternans "Haiti", and I have had no problems with them.

Just something about the Asian species, they drop dead within a week. They eat fine, have tons of moisture, but always seem to die.

Is there something simple I am overlooking? What is the BEST care sheet out there for S. s. deehani?

Chilobrachys

Arachnoknight
Old Timer
Ya the same thing happened to me with my first pede (subspinipes). I ate maybe once or twice and died after two months of having it. Since then I've bought an E. trigo and a S. polymorpha and have had them for 6 months, they are both doing great. But I know for sure both of my live pedes were bred in captivity. Maybe a lot of asians are wild caught and that may have something to do with them dying so easily. I am new to pedes, but it may have something to do with that, but I am sure a more experienced keeper can give a full answer.

tabor

Arachnoprince
Old Timer
I remember hearing Asian WC inverts are notorious for internal parasites, could be wrong though.

ranchulas

Arachnobaron
Old Timer
OK, any pede I get from Asia seems to die within a week of me having it. This includes pedes that the dealer has had in captivity for 6+ mmonths.

Now, I have also kept S. alternans "Haiti", and I have had no problems with them.

Just something about the Asian species, they drop dead within a week. They eat fine, have tons of moisture, but always seem to die.

Is there something simple I am overlooking? What is the BEST care sheet out there for S. s. deehani?

Start with explaining how you keep them.Do you keep them the same as your other pedes? Explain in more detail please.

Galapoheros

ArachnoGod
Old Timer