Very strange centipede

dennisjnh

Arachnopeon
Over the last week I have seen two of these very strange but magnificient creatures. I live on the big island of Hawai'i. The centipede was about an inch long with an orangeish-brown body. However, the legs and head were a brilliant neon blue. I have heard these are more poisonous than normal centipedes. I have no prior experience with them so I'm just saying probably bastardized knowledge, but hey. Any thoughts?

dennisjnh

Arachnopeon
Not particularly. but this may be because the legs become duller as they mature? The ones I saw had cyan legs, a direct contrast to their orange bodies. The legs were the color of the question mark emoticon you see under reply boxes.

It also seems weird that I saw two of almost the exact same size in two places 20 miles apart. Do they have a set "mating season?" One was at a friends house in gravel we were clearing, the second was at the beach (rocky, dirt beach, not sand).

dennisjnh

Arachnopeon
Ah, I was reading more up on them. You were correct, sir. The adults are reddish-brown but the young have blue legs. Thanks for the help!

pavel

Arachnobaron
Old Timer
Ah the memories! Wish I had been able to keep a few back when I lived on Oahu in the days of my youth. Alas, if I had tried, my mother surely would have killed me! LOL So unreasonable ... she would not even let me keep a cane spider or two. :}

GartenSpinnen

Arachnoprince
Old Timer
Wow! That is a beautiful centipede! Are those available in the hobby? I want one! I would pay for one of those, very very nice....:worship:

zonbonzovi

Creeping beneath you
Old Timer
Hawaii isn't allowing export of their natives, which sucks because everyone I've ever talked to from Hawaii said that these are considered a pest. Looks like you'll have to smuggle it in your underwear:eek:

Elytra and Antenna

Arachnoking
Arachnosupporter +