new and have some questions

ZEKE

Arachnopeon
hey everyone im new to centipedes. i find them in my back yard and watch them for a while before i let them go but i would like to be able to keep one.

i was wondering if i could keep one of these that i find in my yard or if thats a bad idea. if its a bad idea to keep one from my yard what would be a good first one to buy?

the ones in my yard are about 2 inches long. what would i feed a 2 inch centipede? would normal crickets be too big for it?

i was thinking i would get like a 1/2 gallon glass jug or a 1 gallon glass jug and fill it like half way up with bed-a-beast and some bark pieces and leaves on top of that.

how hot do they need to be kept at and what humidity?

will a piece of window screen rubber banded over the top of the jug hold it in?

sorry if these are dumb questions. if you all think this is a horrible idea let me know and i wont do it.

thanks for any help and advice.

~AC~

zonbonzovi

Creeping beneath you
Old Timer
Hey Zeke-

I don't think you'll upset the balance of nature by keeping a backyard centipede- go for it. My small guys tend to ignore crickets & don't really eat that often anyway. I've had the best luck w/ small beetle grubs, small mealworms & termites. You could probably go even smaller than 1/2 gallon. I use 2 oz. deli cups or smallish pickle jars. Moisten whatever substrate you use to mimic the conditions where you found it. Room temp. should be fine. A window screen will work, but a lid w/ holes will keep the humidity in better. Be sure to post a pic;)

hey everyone im new to centipedes. i find them in my back yard and watch them for a while before i let them go but i would like to be able to keep one.

i was wondering if i could keep one of these that i find in my yard or if thats a bad idea. if its a bad idea to keep one from my yard what would be a good first one to buy?