sexing S. subspinipes

lordfriday2

Arachnopeon
just got a vietnamese centipede... any way to tell what sex it is besides wait a few years and see if it lays eggs or not?

CodeWilster

Arachnobaron
Old Timer
I am brand new to this but let's see...

For this species and most others, there is really no way of telling simply by looking at them. However, females are usually longer and thicker, and sometimes have different coloration. Their genitalia are housed within the last segment internally just beneath the terminal legs.

Congrats on the new pede! What "morph" did you get?

CodeWilster

Arachnobaron
Old Timer
Lol. Color, pattern, etc. Well it's a Scolopendra subspinipes from vietnam, so I BELIEVE it is a S.s de haani. I think the two most common morphs of that subspecies from nam is the "yellow leg", the other being the "orange leg". I think it goes something like that...anyway back to the point what color form? Got any pics? :)

peterbourbon

Arachnolord
Old Timer
...and sometimes have different coloration. Their genitalia are housed within the last segment internally just beneath the terminal legs.
Hm...Where did you read that with different coloration? Can you give an example in which species you can distinct male from female by coloration?

Regarding genitalia: As far as I know the testes of male centipedes are located in 16/17/18 segment, means: A little bit farther from the terminals.

Regards,
Turgut

CodeWilster

Arachnobaron
Old Timer
Both quoted from Steven's site on "sexing":

Genitals are situated inside the last segment underneath the ultimate legs...Some external differences can be the shape of terminal legs (for example Sc.morsitans males have ridges on the prefemur, femur and tibia) or the pilosity of the ultimate legs (for example male Sc.dalmatica) Other external differences can be a slightly different coloration. Also it's common that females grow bigger and fatter then males.
link: http://www.scolopendra.be/breeding.php