i am a pede noob.

B-rain

Arachnopeon
I plan on buying one very soon, probly the Scolopendra subspinipes (malasyin giant i believe) and well i was wondering if you folks had any input on the type, and how humid i would have to keep it, Ive been reading about them (pedes) in general for the last month or so, and well im going to buy so id just like to have some help and make sure i can keep a happy, healthy pede. hmm also feeding how much would i feed it? once a day or like a few times a week. Thank you in advance to anyone that will help me!

Satellite Rob

Arachnoangel
Old Timer
I have a Malayian Giant.Mine is about 8-1/2".She is pretty aggressive and
fast.I feed mine a couple times a week and i'll feed her couple of large cricket
or a med large roach.But most people feed them once a week.The M.G. not 1 of
favorites.But there still a great pede.There are are alot of better pedes for a
first timer.Like S.Heros or Florida S.Alternans.But buy what you like.Because
you have it for a long time.Unless you get an old giant.Than thay might not last
as long.Old large pedes are impressive.But I would advise you to get a medium
size pede with some life left in it.Why buy a 10" Malaysian giant.When it might
only live for 6 months or a year.But If you buy a nice 7" M.G. it may live 4 or
5 years and you get your money out of it.Remember bigger isn't always better.

B-rain

Arachnopeon
yea,

i was planing on getting a sub adult so it would have some years in it, and i would like to watch it grow. But i had seen you posted a picture of one of the S.Alternans a florida one and it looks very cool.

Satellite Rob

Arachnoangel
Old Timer
Hay B-rain the florida S.A. is a large robust pede that is easy to care for and
thay live a long time.What ever pede you get.I think your really going to like it.
Alot of people don't realize that we have some great pedes in the United States.

B-rain

Arachnopeon