Is this bad?

Redneck

Arachnoprince
Old Timer
Ok so this is my first post in this section.. But I am at a loss for what to do about my Leapord Gecko.. At first I thought oh it might just be his man hood hanging out.. This is my first gecko so I didnt know.. But it was brought to my attention that something might have ruptured and it might be one of his testicals.. I really dont know for sure.. Here is a picture of what I am talking about.. Hope it helps..

If there is anything I can do please let me know..

Redneck

Arachnoprince
Old Timer
Really?

Ok 41 views and no thoughts on what I should do or what it is?

ThomasH

Arachnoprince
Old Timer
I'm no expert, but the first thing I'd do is take it off of it's current substrate and put it on paper towel immediately, assuming of course that it's on sand. You don't want substrate affecting it if it does happen to be an organ of some sort.

I'm also pretty sure that lizards have hemipenes, rather than testicles.

The "male bumps" below his vent do appear uneven, it is reasonable at this point to presume that the "pink mass" is a hemipene.

I've heard reports based on anecdotal observations of lizards, crested geckos especially, "boppin' the bologna", that could be it. Maybe you should wait it out.

TBH

Last edited:

OntarioNative

Arachnosquire
Old Timer
It looks somewhat like a prolapsed hemipene. I have some questions:

Is it dry or moist? Is there any discharge, if so, what colour is it?

Does it smell fowl?

Have you noticed changes in his behavior, activity level, appetite or anything else out of the ordinary?

At any rate, get it on paper towel right away. Also you will want to limit the amount of fixtures in the tank, especially bark and rough rocks or stones.

Alex

Edit: Get some more picks from different angles please, its hard to see the size and shape. Thanks

Beardo

Arachnoprince
Old Timer