Dog keepers, I got this here question...

Cirith Ungol

Ministry of Fluffy Bunnies
Old Timer
I have a friend (and his family) who have taken in a young dog. It's a Bernese Mountain Dog.

First and foremost, those people have not much knowledge of how a dog's mind works. I'm no expert myself but let's say how I behave towards the dog makes it listen pretty much on the spot, where as they are fighting an uphill battle. Garbage bins get searched, diapers torn open and spread over the floor, the dog is by now large enough to just comfortably reach onto the table and is anything within reach it will eat it unless a child sits straight in front of the food. Well, you can imagine, jumping, mounting of the cat, chewing of anything that has a distinct (or foody) smell, and so forth. And when ever I give the tiniest advice on how to counteract anything I get the same response "Oh he's just young! He'll learn in time!". Yeah good luck. If this doesn't annoy you yet then wait 'til he weighs 100lb.

To the question, which honestly has hardly anything to do with what I've just talked about... :wall:

They don't take the dog for walks, saying that they were told by the breeders not to do so while he was still growing. Is there any truth to that so should not be done or are those folks just lazy?

jayefbe

Arachnoprince
Old Timer
Lazy. My dogs have always gotten daily walks, even when pups. They'll definitely tire out quicker at a young age, but I'm a firm believer that every dog needs some type of daily exercise. Given their apparent lackadaisical approach so far, I'm not sure that dogs gonna be a lifelong companion.

Cirith Ungol

Old Timer
Lazy. My dogs have always gotten daily walks, even when pups. They'll definitely tire out quicker at a young age, but I'm a firm believer that every dog needs some type of daily exercise. Given their apparent lackadaisical approach so far, I'm not sure that dogs gonna be a lifelong companion.