Urgent T problems

Cockroach

Arachnosquire
Old Timer
Hello everyone, I'm new to keeping T's, but I've been reading-up on keeping them. I got given to me two T's today, an A. aviculara and G. rosea. They were both not taken care of properly, and both have problems.

The G. rosea is named "Bristles", and has the more urgent problems of the two. She whent through a bad molt, and some exoskeleton was wrapped tight around her mouthparts that have the fangs at the end of them( sorry, I don't know the names of most T body structures). The fangs now point forward at a slight angle and are very visible. Can she eat with the fangs facing forward instead of the way they usually rest them? Or do I need to do something with the insects so she can eat? Does anyone know if they should return to normal when she next molts?

The A. aviculara is named "Tippy", and he is missing his pedipalps. If he isn't going to be bred, can he function well without them? Other than the missing pedipalps, he is healthy, and likes to jump:).

Hope someone here can help, I'm really worried about my Bristles and Tippy:(.

laters,
Bill

MrT

Arachnoking
Old Timer
The pinktoe won't be able to breed, but should live for some time yet. Mind you, not too long though.

The rosea is more of a problem.
I'd first ask you how big is it? If its big enough to hold with your fingers, you can hold it upside down and drip some water on the mouth to hopefully loosen the stuck skin.
If it didn't shed all its mouth parts, including its pumping stomach and thorax, it is in real trouble.
It could do a force molt in time, but you'll just have to wait and see.

Bad news.. Good luck..

Ernie

Cockroach

Arachnosquire
Old Timer
Thanks for the reply. There's no stuck skin on her, it all was removed before I got her, but not before her fang area was distorted. Her fangs just jutt out a little, will this effect her ability to eat?

laters,
Bill

MrFeexit

Arachnodork
Old Timer