new + versi paradox

onewasjo

Arachnopeon
hi. i've been reading the boards for about a month now, so i thought it time to introduce myself.

i'm a newbie T keeper with a grand total of 2 T's in my "collection":D

t-rex: 3/4" a. versicolor sling. sweet and awfully cute, but able to pin down crix its own size with 7 hands tied behind its back! so named b/c my b-friend and i were jazzed about the adults looking like 70's glam rockers.

un-named as of yet: 2.5" a. chalcodes. unbelievably meek but sweet. she's done nothing for a month now (except run away from her food) until this past weekend. i was out of town for a few days for Tday and i came home to an amazing burrow!

i feel pretty well-versed on the basics of their care, but i have a question about my versi:

she was 4th instar when i got her from the awesome dealers at Southern Spider Works and i've had her for a month with no molt.

i sculpted this ... sprout (LOL for lack of a better description) and placed it in the middle of her enclosure. she seems to like it well enough and 2 weeks ago, built a very thick tunnel web between it and the wall. however, this "sprout" prevents me from cleaning her enclosure out without totally wreaking her new web.

for almost 2 weeks i've kept thinking that she was gonna molt any day now and so i'm afraid to clean her enclosure and wreak her web. i'm also starting to get really worried about the fuzzy white mold i see on some of the crix waste at the bottom of the enclosure. plus. i feel like i'm nurturing the mold by misting her enclosure (in anticipation of the molt!) LOL.

ee-gads. what should i do? wreak the web and clean the enclosure out (and re-think its design) or let it ride out until she molts?

i've heard terrible things about versi's and mold...

much thanks for any help!!

ps: wanted to add that this is an amazing resource. props to whoever started this project...

Last edited:

Frostbyte

Arachnobaron
Old Timer