need help with community tank

ironfist

Arachnopeon
Hello, I am absolutely new to invertibrate husbandry. I have limited knowledge but I would like to set up a 65 gallon terrarium with as many different species as practical......roaches, beetles, walking sticks, sow bugs, mantids, millipedes......any advice on species that will get along, design features of tank, sources of information. I met a nice pet store guy that will set me a Madagascar colony but they're glass climbers.......??????? please help me out....this is for me, my kids and my students. If it goes well I'll probably graduate to arachnids, scorpions, centipedes.....thanks, ironfist

Navaros

Arachnoprince
Old Timer
Well stick insects are illegal in Canada and the US first of all. If you kept them with mantids the mantids would eat thm much faster than they could reproduce. Sowbugs would be safe drom pretty much anything in the tank. I think you would be safe with some sowbugs and millipedes together and maybe some mantids as long as there were lots of branches, and you keep them well fedd so they didn't eat each other. I would use a species like Phyllocrania paradoxa since they can be kept communally if well fed. All I can really think of, but you may be able to get away with roaches also, a quickly reproducing species would probably be best and would keep the mantids well fed. If I was going to try setting up a tank like that I would probably keep assassins in it instead of mantids. Not sure if they would hurt the millipedes but they would love the sowbugs. Not an insect I would want around children though.

ironfist

Arachnopeon
a couple more roach questions...