pelo

Arachnoangel
Old Timer
All around preferred feeder for all sizes of tarantulas

Last edited:

Wade

Arachnoking
Old Timer
As is often the case with polls, there aren't enough choices. No one expects the list to have ALL roaches listed, but several popular contenders have been omitted, such as:

Eublaberus prosticus (Orange head): Reproduce fast and get nice and chunky.

Gromphadorhina portentosa (hissing roach): The glass climbing and very thick exoskeleton may make them less than ideal, but they're a better choice than B. giganteus which (IME) reproduce too slowly to be a good feeder.

Nauphoeta cinerea (lobster): A very popular feeder roach. Not as big as the others listed, but the tiny nymphs are small enough for nearly any spiderling.

Of the ones presented, I'm voting for B. dicoidales, which reproduces at a much faster rate than the other two blabs listed, which is important in a feeder. I have no experience with Blaptica, but I've heard their praises sung often.

Wade

Martin H.

Arachnoangel
Old Timer
Originally posted by Wade

As is often the case with polls, there aren't enough choices. No one expects the list to have ALL roaches listed, but several popular contenders have been omitted, such as:
Blatta (Shelfordella) lateralis / Shelfordella tartara: an alternative for crickets (Acheta domesticus) – similar size, soft, doesn't burrow into the ground like many other Feeder roches,... and reproduces fast.

Rhypharobia (Leukophaea) maderae: at the step of going to be a popular feeder roach in Europe. Reproduces fast but is a glass climber and a bit smelly.

all the best,
Martin

Last edited:

pelo

Arachnoangel
Old Timer
Originally posted by Wade
As is often the case with polls, there aren't enough choices. No one expects the list to have ALL roaches listed, but several popular contenders have been omitted

Wade