GBB enclosure, conflicting advice.

Dreadlock Wolf

Arachnopeon
Hi Guys,

Ok so i have a sling under an inch. (Green Bottle Blue, Chromatopelma cyaneopubescens)

I'm setting up a new little enclosure. But have been experiencing conflicting advice.
Some books say they like it bone dry, adults and slings. With plenty of ventilation.

Some say have damp sub with regular misting.

I don't want to harm the poor little fella with the wrong set up. And i was concerned
about having dry sub if that means humidity would be low and i'd have moulting problems
on my hands.

Any advice? People keeping these slings?

Dry Sub or Damp?

Kungfujoe

Arachnoknight
Old Timer
I have 4 slings which I have been keeping for a few months now. I keep them in small enclosures that I don't mist or keep a water dish, instead I use a small dropper and drop a few drops once a week and let the ts drink off that.. So far haven't lost one and they eat every well.. Hope this info helps..

Dreadlock Wolf

Arachnopeon
Hey Joe, Yeah. Thats an idea man. I like that. Never considered a little droplet device :) what ever you call them squeeze things.

Kungfujoe

Arachnoknight
Old Timer
=] I guess they are just called droppers.. But glad I can help...

jayefbe

Arachnoprince
Old Timer
While GBBs do like it dryer, I'd recommend keeping it a little more moist for a sling. Generally, for my dryer Ts I like to spray half of the substrate until it's damp and then let it dry out before I repeat the process. It all depends on the ambient conditions and amount of ventilation though.

advan

oOOo
Staff member
I kept my slings dry, mist the web once a week for hydration. I use something like a card to cover the sling while misting, they don't appreciate getting wet. ;)

Shell

ArachnoVixen AKA Dream Crusher AKA Heartbreaker
Staff member
I keep mine dry as well, it's around 2" now. I have kept it dry since it was a sling, and just misted a small portion of the webbing/enclosure once a week.

Dreadlock Wolf

Arachnopeon