At emergency vet until 3am because of PROMERIS

LeilaNami

Arachnoking
Old Timer
I had to rush my dog to the vet last night. One of my vets sold me Promeris flea and tick control which I applied and 24 hours later my dog started acting strange. We were going to bed and she started having head tremors. I've had dogs with epilepsy before but this looked more like an idiopathic head tremor. I took her to the ER because I was afraid it was drug toxicity since I've never used Promeris before and it turns out I was correct. Apparently the active ingredient amitraz was causing my dog to have a reaction. According to my vet, collie breeds, such as my ACD, can be sensitive to amitraz due to it blocking signal pathways and becoming trapped. She also said dogs sensitive to amitraz could also be sensitive to ivermectin which would indicate to me that the same MDR-1 receptor mutation might be responsible. It's well known collie breeds and other herding breeds have severe reactions to ivermectin and similar drugs but I had no idea about amitraz. She had to receive antisedan as an antidote and is now being watched carefully. Luckily it seems it wasn't severe toxicity and she only needed one does of antisedan.

I did some further digging on Promeris and it seems many dogs and cats are having severe reactions to Promeris despite the company touting it as less toxic than other flea and tick meds. I would caution anyone who is using this product for the first time.

pitbulllady

Arachnoking
Old Timer
Many primitive or "pariah" breeds, like Akita Inus and Carolina Dogs, are also sensitive to many of the main components of topical flea-tick meds, and since the ACD has Australian Dingo, as well as Collie, in its background, that would not surprise me for one to have a reaction. Hopefully your dog will be OK after her ordeal.

pitbulllady

jayefbe

Arachnoprince
Old Timer