Plant Suggestions

skullking

Arachnosquire
I will be setting up a tank about 5 or 10 gallons (I haven't decided yet) for a Large centipede about 5in in length. I was wondering if you guys had any ideas on what kind of plants I could put in there. I'm looking for something that doesn't need any special lighting. The tank will get will get natural light through out the day. Thoughts?

SamuraiSid

Arachnodemon
Plants use light to grow, so maybe if there isnt ideal lighting, the plant will survive just fine and maintain a more appropriate size? The more I research plants the more I feel like popular opinion follows the caresheets that uses such vague conecepts as: low light, indirect light, 50% shade, etc. Then again, maybe these terms are just fine for your average gardener, but serve us poorly.

Im still new to plants, but its my understanding that a lot of plants will survive just fine with [strike]Tarantula[/strike] Centipede lighting.... whatever that is;)

Pothos is the go too plant in our hobby. Low light, you can forget to water it, easily maintained.
Perperomia genus is a good one with P. caperata being on the smaller side approx. 6" x 6".
Selaginella genus is interesting. Im currently playing with some fern moss.

Louise E. Rothstein

Arachnobaron
Old Timer
If you move your hand in front of your tank's "natural light" will you see a clearly defined,but not black, shadow?

That is indirect light.

A BLACK shadow would be direct light...and a DIM shadow is probably not enough light.

arachnofab

Arachnosquire
Old Timer