Venus flytrap question?

DannyH

Arachnobaron
Hi, I'm kind of new to plants. I bought a venus flytrap from a store on a whim and I did some reasearch and found out it is in its dormancy period. I live in northern new jersey, and according to flytrapcare.com I should only keep it outside in a garden for the winter if I live in that climate, but I live in an apartment, so I can't. What I plan on doing is letting it sit outside from sunrise for light until I am about to go to bed, than taking it indoors for the night. Would this be too cold or not cold enough? Also, if anyone has any ideas I would be grateful. Also, how often, and how much should I feed it? And I may be paranoid, but is it okay to feed them crickets fed with calcium suplimented food, because I know its not recommend for tarantulas? Thanks!

heres a map of average temps in my area if it helps
http://www.weather.com/weather/wxclimatology/monthly/graph/USNJ0060

Last edited:

Tarac

Arachnolord
I think some people store them in the fridge in the winter when they are dormant in areas outside of their climate range- key being that if they are dormant, the plant has died back so there shouldn't be leaves. They sprout again in the spring. I am luck enough to live where it is just cold enough to provide required dormancy and definitely not too cold so I grow them outdoors in an artificial bog I made. This is their normal growth pattern. They die after they flower so get seeds from the adult when that happens.

My suggestion would be to ensure that it gets a chance to go dormant before it starts getting so cold that it's too cold for them- exposure to 10-20 is fine, just not sudden- i.e. don't keep it inside and then suddenly decide to winterize it by putting it out in a snow storm. They grow natively in the Carolinas so they do tolerate some cold and they don't tolerate no cold so they are true mild-temperate plant.

BQC123

Arachnobaron
Old Timer