Really want to try live plants

Kat Fenix

Arachnosquire
I'm really wanting to try some live moss or something in my A. avic's new enclosure I'm working on. It's only a 5-gallon but I think I could do some fun things with it.
Here's a rather bad photo, and it's not done yet. [it's also my first enclosure, go easy on me!]

I'm wondering what I'd need for live plants.
Drainage layer? How high should the drainage layer be? [I'm guessing those little clay balls?]
Substrate? What kind?

These were the plants I was thinking of putting in. I'm not very experienced with plants, so I'm not sure which ones would be the best. I just want a little bit of live greenery, you know?
Sheet Moss
Live Moss
Gold Tips spikemoss
Krauss' Spikemoss
Creeping Jenny

Tongue Flicker

Arachnobaron
Moss needs cool temps paired with ample light and lots of moisture. Something that Ts don't want on a sunny day. You could grow low-light plants though

Galapoheros

ArachnoGod
Old Timer
If the plants you choose might have a hard time with the substrate you use in terrs, what you can do is pot the plants in the proper soil and bury the pot up to it's rim.

The Snark

Dumpster Fire of the Gods
Old Timer
Match the environment to the animal, not the other way around. Establish the basic environment that suits the animals needs inclusive of soils and substrate then make a list of plants native to the animal, decide what will fit in the space available and will thrive in the environment. Try to avoid growing cacti on a glacier and populating the area with arboreal primates.

josh_r

Arachnoprince
Old Timer