Hi all, new here

SCtarantulas

Arachnosquire
Old Timer
Hey people, I'm new to tarantulas in fact I got my first one today. Its a G. Rosea! Just thought I would say hi and show your my first tarantula. :)

Enjoy,
Steve

Last edited:

Spydra

Arachnobaron
Old Timer
Welcome to the boards Steve, nice picture of your rosie.

Renee

SCtarantulas

Arachnosquire
Old Timer
Hey Spydra,
Thanx, I was wondering if using peat for the substrate was okay because my rosea seems to be standing on top of her cork bark more than on the peat! should I change the substrate?

Regards,
Steve

Socrates

Arachnoprince
Old Timer
Welcome

Hi Steve,

And welcome to the Arachnoboards. I'm sure you'll love this place as much as I do. Tons and tons of information, pictures, and great people.

Unfortunately I can't see the pics of your Rose (could be my PC though), but my first T was a Chilean Rose as well. I'm up to 4 now - it's become quite addictive. :D

Perhaps your peatmoss is too wet for your Rose? Or even slightyly moist? My Rosea despises any kind of moisture and she was climbing the walls of her enclosure until it dried out completely.

Great to have you.

---
Wendy
---

Spydra

Arachnobaron
Old Timer
I keep my peat very dry & both my T's are very happy. At first, I had it too wet and she would not even come off the top of her lid, once it dryed out quite a bit it was much better.

Renee

Arachnoking

Arachnobaron
Old Timer
Welcome to the boards mate. Have fun. this place is very informative and any questions no matter how silly you might think they are , please ask {D

SCtarantulas

Arachnosquire
Old Timer
Oh ok thanx a lot Wendy, I was misting the peat to get it some humidity going! I will let it dry out then just mist the walls.

Thanx again,
Steve

SCtarantulas

Arachnosquire
Old Timer
Thanx archnoking,
Its good to have a warm welcome :)

Thanx again,
Steve

leiurus

Arachnobaron
Old Timer
Welcome!
If you have any question, just ask! We'll be glad to answer.
Dom

SCtarantulas