Hi im new

Jason la Jason

Arachnosquire
Old Timer
Hi ppl

im new to the forum and i just bought my first T 2 days ago, it's a Texas brown and i believe the scientific name is the Aphonopelma hentz, i have read over some post but doesn't seem like this is a popular T and i was just wondering if anyone own one of these or know some of their behavior and stuff, and for the past 2 days i own her, she hasn't ate any crickets yet and it's getting dark, i believe it might be prepare to molt or die, im a beginner and hope i don't have to handle it so soon =[

rosehaired1979

Arachnoking
Old Timer
Welcome to the boards! Congrats on your 1st T. Sounds like a molt to me so i wouldn't worry just yet.

pokiecollector

Arachnoknight
Old Timer
welcome !

hey ! welcome, i wouldn't worry about anything, not eating and getting dark just means its fixing to molt, after it molts give it a week to harden back up before you try to feed it, or it could still be weak and a cricket could possibly harm it.

jeff

The Red Queen

Mrs. TarCan
Welcome Jason!

It could also be that your T is not eating because he is still getting settled into his new home OR he's just plain not hungry:)

Pheonixx

Arachnoprince
Old Timer
welcome to the boards, hope you find this place as useful as i have. Great ppl on here and lots of very knowledgeable people...

pitbulllady

Arachnoking
Old Timer