Some questions about mantis

odwan

Arachnopeon
Hi All,

I just got a mantis this weekend, and I got a few questions. The label just said pray mantis, and the origin is africa.

1. It looks a bit like the 'bud wing mantis' Parasphendale affinis to me. Please let me know if this is the case or not.

2. How often should I spray?

3. How often should I feed? It sometimes posts the 'threatened' post when it encounters the prey, is that normal?

4. It just molted yesterday, the day before it was still eating, and I got no clue that it was going to molt at all. How can I tell whether it is going to molt?

5. I am not very good at handling a camera and it seems that the pictures that I took doesnt quite have the correct contrast. Any tips for taking pictures of insects?

Thanks very much for your attention!

odwan

Attachments

Jesse607

Arachnodemon
Old Timer
Definitely looks like a Parasphendale spp. to me. I can't tell for sure which species of Parasphendale though. misting it two or three times a week should be fine unless you live in a desert (then mist more often). It should do fine if fed twice a week. Also in case you did not know it looks to be a subadult male.

odwan

Arachnopeon
Thanks very much, Jezzy. So I guess this species comes from dry places where food is less available? (The Chinese mantis I kept when I was a kid ate a hell lot.......)
By the way, how do you tell whether it is a male or female at this stage?

Thanks.

cacoseraph

ArachnoGod
Old Timer
count the abdomen segments

if it has what looks like 5 or 6 (it's technically supposed to be 6, but sometimes a segment can be hard to see) it's a girl... if it has 8 segments (or 7...) it's a boy

Fluid Filter

Arachnoknight
Old Timer
Hey, just passn through.
I don't know about the mantis but i do know a little about photography.