Need advice on raising stick insects from eggs

Mendi

Arachnowolf
Old Timer
I just got some 60-70 eggs from a friend and I know what they like to eat and that once they hatch, but I need some advice on hatching them out. I've no experience with that at all.

Thanks

Wikkids_Wench

Arachnoknight
Old Timer
I've hatched Extatosoma Tiaratum eggs on damp sand in a small plastic tub before, but IMO the ventilation was too poor to encourage the rest of the eggs to hatch. One even went mouldy.

At the moment I'm trying a 1 cm layer of sand in the bottom of a wood-based mesh cage (fabric mesh in a wood frame with a plastic velcro-ed on front), with the eggs spaced out evenly on the sand, misted morning and evening to maintain moisture.

We'll see... ;)

Dark Raptor

Arachnoprince
Old Timer
With that incubator from my previous post I succesfully raised 7 Phasmodea species:Extatosoma tiaratum, Eurycantha calcarata, Aretaon asperrimus, Medauroidea extradentata, Neohirasea maerens, Phaenopharos khaoyaiensis, Lamponius guerrini.
I've never had any problem with mould... you should only keep correct humidity.
Generally 70 - 90% eggs hatched (sometimes I had more than 300 E. tiaratum's). That was wonderfull wiev.

knightjar

Arachnosquire
Old Timer
Do you know what species you have?
There are some very different requirements in terms of humidity, temperature and airflow, bearing in mind that phasmids originate from a variety of different climates. Knowing the species would also be useful in knowing what the hatch rate was likely to be. Some species have over 90% success rate, which could turn out to be quite a handful if you suddenly have 70 hungry nymphs...!

Dark Raptor

Arachnoprince
Old Timer
knightjar said:
Some species have over 90% success rate, which could turn out to be quite a handful if you suddenly have 70 hungry nymphs...!
Yes... especially Extatosoma tiaratum :)