Moulting and Housekeeping

Kevin Girling

Arachnopeon
Hi

I'm new to the hobby of keeping Tarantulas. I have a B.Smithi that I bought from Swallow Aquatics in Norfolk about 2 months ago. Everything appears to be well at the mo....the spider has undergone two moults so far, growing considerably with each moult. The colours are more akin to the adult now and it measures about 4 cm business end to spinnerett!

I was surprised as it moulted for the second time about 2 weeks after the first moulting. I was unprepared for the rapidity, but am assuming it had some catching up to do or something, perhaps due to the length of time it was kept in a small tub in the pet shop (I found no evidence of food waste in the container) and it eats like a horse!!!.

Also I have noticed it collecting up waste matter (ex-cricket parcels) into a heap and buries them in the corner of the tank where it usually lives....the parcels appear to have been fully processed (i.e. they are not freshly killed) so I do not think they are 'for later'.

I will clean them out of the tank tomorrow as I do not want them rotting.

Any views on the two points above.

Cheers.

Kev

ShadowBlade

Planeswalker
Old Timer
So, two week molt? Is it like 1/16" of an inch or something?{D

If she does the housekeeping, u haul out the trash. It's always great when u have co-operative T's.
Out of curiosity, what substrate is :)rolleyes: she:rolleyes:?) living on? And what is it housed in?

Kevin Girling

Arachnopeon
It grew by at least another 5mm body length both moults.....I kid u not. Going by the books it mentions nothing about them molting so soon. :?

I have the spider housed in a 10" square glass tank. It is on a 2" deep John Innes potting compost/Vermiculite blend (I can't remember the percentage I did what it said in Schultz).