Random stuff

Kris M

Arachnopeon
So I'm very new to this (just a few weeks of ownership).
But I've noticed a couple interesting quirks about my spiders I'd like to share.

First is my B. albopilosum. This little character hasn't eaten yet :( but otherwise looks healthy so I'm not too worried yet. The neat thing is that it seems to have a "time" tolerance. It will allow me to remove the lid and watch it but after about 2 minutes it will just kick hairs, even though I'm not doing anything but watching. I thought this was kind of interesting, it's almost like it's saying "Okay you've been watching long enough, now piss off!" I'm going to leave it alone entirely now to see if it will eat this coming weekend.

Second is my B. emelia. This character I provided a hide to, half a plastic flower pot on an angle going down into the substrate. Well it decided that wasn't enough and dug a hole down from the bottom of his hide, luckily enough it made a window on the bottom of the container for me to continue watching. The odd thing I've found is that the dirt it dug out, it just piles up at the entrance to it's hide. I don't think this is a pre-molt thing as it still came out to eat this weekend. The other quirk it has is that it seems to have an "eating place", it will always go to the same corner to eat it's meal. This is the corner that faces the sun, and I've caught it just hanging out there in the middle of the day, not sure if the sun has anything to do with it or not.

Anyways just thought I'd share.

Jared781

Arachnobaron
Ts can definitely have personalities... And all are different so it's truly an amazing expierence to watch each one.

grayzone

Arachnoking
Old Timer
your B. albo could be kickin hairs due to it being uncomfortable with the pressure change and the air flow... it can feel you breathing (id bet my life) on every one of those hairs and him kicking is its way of saying piss off indeed... this is just MY speculation

Jared781

Arachnobaron