What Can Centipedes Eat and Not Eat?

REAL

Arachnobaron
Old Timer
I was eating dinner awhile ago, salmon mainly, and I had my centipede nearby so I was like "hrm, oh what the heck!"

I took off a small tiny piece and gave it to him, little did I expected, he grabbed it and gobbled it down and seemed to enjoy it greatly. I've also tried other stuff before as well like boiled pork, canned fish, cat food (dry and wet), and boiled chicken.

I feed them very sparingly, once a week or two, and so far I haven't seen any side effects whatsoever and its been months. However, I've stopped for awhile because I heard somewhere that it was best to feed them insects cause of fat related issues? Shrug.

So basically the question is, what is okay to feed them and what isn't?

I'm still fairly new to keeping centipedes as well, I started about a few months ago.

Nathan

cacoseraph

ArachnoGod
Old Timer
i would stick to feeding feeders but i have seen and supplemented myself with a fairly amusing variety of food

chorizo
apples
bananas
ground beef

basically any advice about what is good or bad for bugs to eat is going to be fairly groundless. i mean, broadstrokes yeah... we basically know what is good and bad for *any* animal... but centipede specifics (just like tara and scorp specifics) we know NOTHING about

it could as easily turn out that salmon is the magic food that turns them into breeding machines as it gives them a 90 day fuse and then they die of some random omega-fatty-acidosis (i just made that up. sounds good though, eh?)

beetleman

Arachnoking
Old Timer
years back a buddy of mine had many centies,he fed them wet/dry catfood almost all of the time:eek:(no bugs) they got huge/fat from that food they looked awesome and lived long too,but still w/the fat intake i don't know:? i told him that and he said....."maybe, but look at them........they are FREAKIN HUGE!!" and again they did excellent.even had eggs from some of them.

cacoseraph

ArachnoGod
Old Timer