Rosea seems to be drinking a lot of water

Niddy

Arachnopeon
Hi -

I am fairly new to tarantulas and am concerned about my rosea's strange behavior. I have had my rosea for about 2 months now. I generally clean her water dish once or twice a week (unless she poops in it) and when I do, it is generally at least half full. She has one of those little kidney shaped bowls from Petco that holds about 2 tablespoons of water.

I filled the water dish on Sunday. When checked her last night (Monday), it was nearly empty, so I filled it again. I came back about half an hour later and the dish was nearly empty so I filled it again. This morning it was nearly empty again. I haven't actually seen her drinking, but can't figure out where the water could be going.

I don't think she is bothered by a lack of humidity in her enclosure. Her substrate is coconut fiber. It is mostly dry on top, but damp about an inch below the surface. Each time I fill her dish, I overfill it a bit to provide some moisture.

Any ideas? Could she really be drinking all this water?

Thanks,
N

problemchildx

Arachnoprince
Old Timer
Hi, I would suggest taking out the water dish for a couple weeks. Sounds like it is being evaporated, but even so Rosea's don't need that much water.

Welcome to the boards!

Mushroom Spore

Arachnoemperor
Old Timer
damp about an inch below the surface. Each time I fill her dish, I overfill it a bit to provide some moisture
This needs to stop. A rosea's enclosure should be completely bone dry with the exception of the inside of the water dish.

She probably isn't drinking it. If the humidity in your area isn't lower than usual (check weather.com), there's probably tiny strands of webbing on the dish that are leeching the water out and into the substrate.

Niddy

Arachnopeon
Thanks for the replies; I appreciate the help. I will stop overfilling the water dish since she doesn't need it.