Getting your first aggressive T's

AubZ

Arachnoprince
Old Timer
I was wondering when it came to getting your first aggresive T's, is it better to get them from slings or jump straight into adult? And is there any set time or rough time line that you should be in the hobby before getting them?

7mary3

Arachnodemon
Old Timer
Well, here's the thing. I'm still relatively new to the hobby, but I started with a P. regalis. Not horribly prone to biting, she'll try to run away first. It is a rather nasty bite should she tag you though. I then moved on to an OBT. Now, the P regalis was an adult when I got her. The OBT was a sling. I am much more nervous about the OBT for a couple of reasons. First, should she get out, then it could be damn near impossible to find her. Second, because she's so small, she can be hard to locate at times, which makes going into her enclosure rather nerve racking, because I don't want to get tagged. Third, and perhaps the biggest reason, is that because she's a sling, she can't necessarily control the amount of venom delivered with her bite, whereas an adult can and may even dry bite you. With a sling, you're getting a full load of juice, and it could very likely be a more severe bite then you'd get with an adult. All of that being said, I love my P. Regalis, but that OBT is my baby. I love that thing, it's just more exciting, plus, it's a lot of fun raising them from a sling. Ultimately it's up to you. An adult isn't a bad choice, at all. They can be much easier to care for (in my experience) and you don't have to worry nearly as much about losing one to a bad molt. Slings you get to watch grow up, but you've got these added issues that I mentioned above. Use your judgement, because only you know what you're comfortable with. I hope this helped a little bit.

RottweilExpress

Arachnoprince
Old Timer
Slings, you get accustomed to it's ways with time. No problem at all.