NEWBIE looking for advice.

hillie16

Arachnosquire
Old Timer
Hi all, been looking over the net for a few days, and I'm thinking about getting a tarantula. I've learned a lot already just from lurking here and searching.

I'm looking for a good first to get. I love the look of Cobalts, blue is my favorite color, but I have read that they are for those with lots of experience. I want one that will grow to a decent size. I've had lots of experience with reptiles, I've had iguanas, a green amieva, and tons of anoles. I don't want a snake, to worried about them getting too big or getting loose. If anyone has any advice, I'd greatly appreciate it. Is it best to start out with a sling?

LOL I'll trade spider advice for Mustang advice, if any one here is into Mustangs they've probably seen my name before, I post on lots of Mustang boards and moderate forums on two of them.

Oh and I wanted to give a big thumbs up to Botar on his chosen profession! Stay safe bro!

hillie

bness2

Arachnoknight
Old Timer
Well, I am on the new side myself, but I can speak from my own experience. For ease of care and docility the Chilean Rose (Grammostola rosea) can hardly be beat, in my opinion. The one I have right now is extremely gentle and almost nothing ruffles her. They typically reach about 4" or so, so they have nice size. Lastly, they are often the most readily available from most pet stores, and some of them need rescuing from the store, considering how poorly understood tarantulas are at times.

There are some other easy and docile species, but in my opinion, this is the one to start with.

Bryan

JacenBeers

Arachnoprince
Old Timer