A. hentzi & G. aureostriata arrived (with some sad news)

Strix

Arachnoknight
Old Timer
Yesterday I got my G. aureostriata and an A. hentzi sling from Kenthebugguy.

The aureostriata seems to be DOA and Ken has been real helpful about the situation. The packaging was great, the T's looked to be real healthy and I am pleased with his swift responses and great service.

I've been thinking about what could have happened to the aureostriata and tonight when I came home from work (they arrived about 10 minutes before I had to leave) and it looks like the box was jumbled around in transit and her cephalothorax was bent in an odd position away from her abdomen. I'm not sure since I am really new to the hobby and this was the only thing that seems logical after now getting a really good look at her.

Regardless, I have moved her into an ICU because I talked to a friend who has been in the hobby for a long time and he has seen and heard of some that have bounced back from the brink of death and I'd rather take the time in case there is any life left in her.

I took some pictures and maybe someone is much more of an expert can look and see if anything had happened during transit.

The A. hentzi is alive and healthy and I plan on giving her the best of care.

Truff135

Arachnoprince
Old Timer
She doesn't look too bad to me, but I would keep her in an ICU with plenty of water. Carefully try to look her over and see if there is any leaking clear/white fluid. If not, she'll probably be alright. If there is external damage, you can patch it up. There are several ways to do this and a quick search should provide some tips.
If there is internal damage there's not much you can do. I do know that sometimes if a tarantula is injured it can somehow speed up the next molt and try to fix any damage.
I hope your girl pulls through. Ken is an excellent guy and I'm sure you guys will figure something out in case the worst happens.