What kinds of food do you feed your dubias?

EightLeggedFrea

Arachnoangel
Old Timer
I will be getting a colony of 50 dubia roaches very soon in the mail. This is my first roach culture, I decided to raise one as an alternative to those wretched crickets (I probably still have a few of those lil buggers still running loose in my room). I was just wondering what kinds of food you can feed dubias. I know they need a lot of protein like dry cat food and benefit from weekly fruits and veggies (as long as these are rinsed of any pesticides, right?). What else can they eat? Being roaches, can they be fed pretty much anything edible?

pinkfoot

Arachnolord
Old Timer
Mine love Fish Flakes which are high in protein. Also,
Dog pellets, ground
Bunny pellets, ground
Chicken feed
Banana - cut lengthways
carrot - ditto
water gel

I'm no expert, but this diet seems to work well, and my colony is growing strongly. ;)

verry_sweet

Arachnobaron
Old Timer
I feed mine everything except for broccoli and cauliflower. Basically what ever is left over after dinner they get (I cook healthy so no preservatives and that kind of stuff) along with good quality cat food and fish flakes.

Elapid

Arachnosquire
Old Timer
lol. i thought that was just my imagination.
/me lights a match

verry_sweet

Arachnobaron
Old Timer
You guys :embarrassed: ;P

I read that somewhere but I never looked in to why. I duno I just don’t feed it to them that’s all :? :eek:

Hedorah99

Arachnoprince
Old Timer
Mine get reduced price produce and soaked cat or dog food. I have noticed a big increase in growth and reproduction since adding the cat and dog food.

Rich65

Arachnosquire
Old Timer
Mine get reduced price produce and soaked cat or dog food. I have noticed a big increase in growth and reproduction since adding the cat and dog food.
No need to soak the dry foods, just grind them like coffee or in a chopper, I have an "ultimate chopper" we got as a xmas gift, thought I would never use it but its awesome.