house cleaning for my cricket colony ?

wizoph

Arachnopeon
:clap: hello guys ! im quite new to this hobby but its really fun . how can i clean my colony ? i would really appreciate if you teach me step by step of the process . thnx . i salute you all ! :clap:

wizoph

Arachnopeon
by the way its a 10 gallon tank with egg cartons and toilet papers , water dish ...

daniel15

Arachnosquire
Old Timer
in my experience if it's not to dirty you could just scoop the dirt and wash the water dish and remove all the old uneaten food. but if it's too dirty i just gather all the crickets in one clean container while i wash their enclosure and change the egg crates.

deathfingers66

Arachnosquire
Old Timer
Crickets are slobs basically, and if you don't keep up, removing food and dead crickets(10" tweezers help), things can start to smell nasty quickly, let alone attract mites. I keep my crickets in the 13 gallon plastic trash cans or smaller(no need to cover, crickets can't climb plastic/glass).I use empty paper towel/TP rolls, or egg-cartons for hides, I use cucumber slices for water source. When it comes time to clean, at least once a week min. for me, I put the crickets in a critter keeper of similar container while I clean there cage, I then use Eco friendly dish soap that is coconut-oil based(I use this to clean all, my pets, water-dishes, cages ,toys,etc.), and always rinse well.

von_z

Arachnobaron
Old Timer
I've actually seen crickets climb some pretty slippery surfaces. I always cover them, but now that I have a breeding roach colony, screw the crickets!!!

deathfingers66

Arachnosquire
Old Timer
I've actually seen crickets climb some pretty slippery surfaces. I always cover them, but now that I have a breeding roach colony, screw the crickets!!!