Two new spiders, any tips?

westiepup

Arachnopeon
Hello! I am a student researcher at Ithaca College and I was wondering if anyone here would like to share their knowledge on caring for a Huntsman spider (Heteropoda venatoria) and a trapdoor spider (Latouchia batuensis). Also, would anyone happen to know the common name of the trapdoor spider? I keep finding so many different names, the one that has popped up the most though is Thai Red Leg. I also heard that the trapdoor's scientific name was changed to Damarchus cf. workmani, is this true? Any help would be greatly appreciated! :D Thanks again!

toolrick

Arachnobaron
Old Timer
Hey there!!!
you can find your answers through the search function. There is a lot of information on how to keep both specimens.

Ricardo

lhystrix

Arachnobaron
Old Timer
Hello! I am a student researcher at Ithaca College and I was wondering if anyone here would like to share their knowledge on caring for a Huntsman spider (Heteropoda venatoria) and a trapdoor spider (Latouchia batuensis). Also, would anyone happen to know the common name of the trapdoor spider? I keep finding so many different names, the one that has popped up the most though is Thai Red Leg. I also heard that the trapdoor's scientific name was changed to Damarchus cf. workmani, is this true? Any help would be greatly appreciated! :D Thanks again!
The name wasn't changed, Latouchia batuensis is an incorrect ID when applied to the specimens for sale in the US at least. Aside from tarantulas, many dealers in the US and probably elsewhere are clueless when it comes to other mygalomorphs and true spiders.
Here is a thread that explains why it is incorrect:
http://www.arachnoboards.com/ab/showthread.php?t=126247