emperor scorpion or asian scorpion

chilean

Arachnosquire
Old Timer
I purchased an "emperor" scorpion from some guy who bought it at the pet store. But as you all know, they are usually wrong on everything they say... lots of info shows it could be an asian forest scorpion.
Since both types can be social, can an emperor be put in an aquarium with an asian forest scorpion?

chilean

Arachnosquire
Old Timer
i know it's a total newb question, but I am a total newb. Thank you for any info.

inverts

Arachnobaron
Old Timer
Heterometrus species (Asian forest scorpions) are generally more aggressive than P. imperators (emperors), so there is some chance of cannibalism. However, some people have successfully kept the two species together.

Do you have a picture of the new scorpion? Are its claws granulated or smooth?

chilean

Arachnosquire
Old Timer
granulated,
but it's claws has a wide stance while in defense mode
and it does have grooves in it's claws
my boyfriend saw a show about scorpions and swears it's an asian (although I didn't see the show)
i am unable to post pics, sorry, can't figure that out, never did

thanks for the info about cannibalism (but maybe that could mostly happen if they are not fed enough?)

it's because I switch it's enclosure and he has alot of room and he could definetly have a room mate in there

LeilaNami

Arachnoking
Old Timer
nope it didn't {D Either way, the "emperor scorpions" sold at stores (especially Petco) have the chance of being true emps, H. spinifer, or P. cavimanus. Either way, it is possible for a communal tank however don't be surprised if one gets munched.

~Abyss~

Arachnoking
Old Timer
These species are usually the best to keep communally if you want to experiment with interspecies communities. They are less likely to canabalize than some other species that people have kept but do expect some initial fighting so you should monitor them closely for a few days.
-Eddy

chilean

Arachnosquire
Old Timer