Immune to urticating hairs?

Charlie

Arachnobaron
Old Timer
I guess maybe I am just lucky or something but I have been keeping (and handeling) Tarantulas now for almost two years and in all that time I have had hairs kicked in my face, rubbed off onto my hands, cleaned the cages without gloves and I have never had a problem with urticating hairs.

Am I just lucky or what? I mean it's not like I sit there and invite them to kick hairs at me or anything but I have never had so much as a single itch, rash or irritated area in 2 years.

Is it rare to have no reaction at all to urticating hairs?

What are some of youe experiances?

-Charlie

Code Monkey

Arachnoemperor
Old Timer
Since a lot of the problems people have with the hairs seem to be allergic in nature there is no reason why there wouldn't be some people out there who don't react particularly adversely. I'm envious.

(I still wouldn't count on it lasting forever)

abstract

Arachnodemon
Old Timer
I'm the same way. Doesn't bother me at all...

I don't have any other allergies, so I wonder if those who have any sort of allergy are more prone to irritation....

esmoot

Arachnobaron
Old Timer
Some sp. are not bad at all. Once you get a few more you will probably be itching like crazy.

looseyfur

Arachnofur
Old Timer
Honestly it doesnt seem to bother me much... save for once when I got blasted in the face... ahhh to be young and foolish...
It does however seem to have gotten progressively worse in regards to my sencitivity to them... but that whole getting a facefull thing really sucked.

your pal-
looseyfur

Arachnopuppy

Arachnodemon
Old Timer
I'm one of those lucky ones that is immune to urticating hair as well as poison ivy=D =D =D

danread

Arachnoprince
Old Timer