American Red Striped or Bumblebee Millipede?

turtleturtle

Arachnopeon
I am a beginner looking for my first pede. These are my two options. Which one would be the best? How do I care for them? I can't find anything on the net, and was told to come here. Thank you!

-Ryan

RoachGirlRen

Arachnoangel
Old Timer
Double-posting in so few hours is impatient and rude. :embarrassed:

You might get a better response if you indicate scientific names; common names tend to cause confusion as to which species you are interested in. By "american red striped" do you mean Narceus americanus or the california red striped Spirobolidae tylobolus? Bumble bee millipede almost always refers to Anadenobolus monilicornis so there isn't much confusion there. A photo search should help if you aren't 100% sure.

Assuming you mean N. americanus and A. monilicornis... The care of both species is pretty similar; keep them in a deep (over 4") soil, peat, or coconut fiber substrate mixed with leaf and hardwood mulch and a thick layer of rotting leaf matter on top. Hardwood and corkbark can be used for hides if you are going to have the tank in a brightly lit area. Leafy greens, veg, and fruit can be offered in moderation to supplement the diet; the occasional bit of protien matter is a good idea as well.

Neither species demands extremely high humidity, but humidity is still important to prevent dessication. As long as the substrate is damp (not wet) and moisture-containing food sources are offered, they are generally OK. N. americanus does not need a heat source; it tolerates a wide range of temperatures but generally does better on the cooler side (room temp is fine), whereas A. monilicornis prefers the mid-upper 70's for breeding.