Why woln't my sling eat?

sjeckert6297

Arachnopeon
I got a 3/8ish inch B. smithi sling Tuesday afternoon. It is now Thursday morning. Tuesday night I put a crix leg in, the sling didn't eat it. Last night I put in the back 1/2 of a med-lrg size crix, still didn't eat. Do I need to try a 1/4 crix? The only other things avaliable to me are mealworms and waxworms. The seller told me that the sling molted a few weeks ago and that it should be hungry. Belly is nice and round still and there are no signs of darkening that I can see. But I've never had a sling so I have no idea how quickly they can change. Should I wait a few days before I try to feed again? Should I get a different type of food, like the waxworms or mealworms? I could probably get earthworms from the bait store too. I am pretty limited here as to what I can get to feed. I'm getting a little nervous, so any help would be great!

natebugman

Arachnoknight
Old Timer
I'm not a big expert on slings. I've only had two, but it sounds like you just need to give it some time to get acclimated to its new surroundings. I would give it at least a week before I got too worried.

Moltar

ArachnoGod
Old Timer
Your sling isn't going to starve to death in 2 days or a week or 2 weeks or even a month. Slings that small will only take a couple of meals between molts anyway. I have 2 1/2" B smithi slings and they're not exactly what you'd call ravenous but then again, the tiniest roach nymphs I can dig up are huge feasts for them.

Don't worry, try again next week. Let the sling get settled.

Bill S

Arachnoprince
Old Timer
First - I'll assume you've got it set up properly? Temperature, hunidity, etc.? If it's not comfortable it's less likely to eat.

Second - If you only got it on Tuesday and you've tried three times already to feed it - I'd suggest you stop and give it a chance to get used to its new surroundings. Let it explore and settle in for at least a few days before feeding it.