What made you start collecting?

Chuckle

Arachnopeon
So, i've been trolling the boards here for a few months, finally decided to register... Also saw on a few other threads the "wrong" reasons to start collecting inverts, so my question to everyone, what made you start collecting?

I'll start off.
I only have a G. Rosea, soon to be a H. Lividum in the terrarium next to it, but i started just because of a fascination with them. Sure everyone has dogs, cats, the occasional lizard, which is great, but tarantulas are just well... dunno, they interest me so much more, cant really describe it :? Mebbe i'm just wierd haha.

BrynWilliams

Arachnoprince
Old Timer
Welcome to the forums!

I started collecting because of a couple reasons really, I've always been into spiders from a very young age, but moving around like crazy when I was a teenager prevented me from ever getting around to getting a couple Ts.

After that I went through a phase of just not thinking about them at all and so a few years went by without any pets at all.

Finally this my 4th year of uni, I incidentally came across a rosea in the local pet store I walk past almost everyday. I bought it that very day (I was ripped off blind at the same time :8o )

In the following 3 weeks I got another 3 :) I can safely say I'm well and truely hooked!

Hope you all like the little story :)

Bryn

Triggerman73

Arachnoknight
Old Timer
Well, i saw a picture of a bite from a brown recluse and i started getting into spiders and solfugids...after a while, i saw a picture of an H. lividum and i wanted to get one. After realizing the aggressiveness, i decided to get something else. At first, i wanted a B. smithi. But, when i figured out that G. pulchripes gets bigger, i wanted one of them. After doing some more research, someone told me about B. albiceps so i decided i liked them better. When i bought my B. albiceps, i got a free B. vagans so now i have two...looking for more. :?