Good Beginner Arboreal other than Avicularia Genus? (I am not good with the search function)

Triggerman73

Arachnoknight
Old Timer
Well, I have an empty 10 gallon that I want to section in half and get two arboreal Ts but I am a beginner and i cant get a pokie just yet. I want something a little more exciting than a Avic though and I need a cheap T.

I know I should use the search function but I am absolutely horrible with it...plus i found one thread but the only one in there that I was interested in getting right now was an OBT and I thought they were terrestrial...

Also, if you have a link, that would be great. Just not the one from xhexdx. although it is a great post with awesome links for FAQs, it is too broad, believe me, I tried...:wall:

burmish101

Arachnobaron
Old Timer
Try genus Psalmopoeus or Tapinauchenius, IMO pokies are just flighty and nothing hard to work with if your careful.

radicaldementia

Arachnobaron
Old Timer
Well I would say other than avics, there are no "beginner" arboreals. Pretty much every other species is going to be fast and sometimes furious.

Probably your best best is to go with the genus Psalmopoeus. They can be pretty jumpy, but not as bad as a pokie or other arboreals. I have a P. cambridgei who is definitely one of my favorite T's. Very pretty coloring and very active, she hid a lot when I first got her but now she's always out and waiting eagerly for her next meal.

Tapinauchenius are nice too, but they are very, very fast.

Triggerman73

Arachnoknight
Old Timer
Well I would say other than avics, there are no "beginner" arboreals. Pretty much every other species is going to be fast and sometimes furious.