Questions for Brazilian Black owners

Rabies_Kitten

Arachnopeon
I'm a newbie in here (suprise..) and I've been looking for a beginner's tarantula. I've been thinking (and probably getting one) Brazilian Black.
I've heard that it's pretty expensive so I want to hear about your experiences..
Are males more docile if handling? (meaning if cleaning the tank)

And so on, thanks for now...

-Rabies Kitten-

pelo

Arachnoangel
Old Timer
G.pulchra is well known for it's docility..males/females..slings/adults.An excellent choice for a beginner spider.Very reluctant to strike/bite whether handling or cleaning enclosures.Docile..nice jet black coloring..good display species..hardy and easy to care for.Only one drawback,they are very slow growers,taking forever to reach adulthood from slings.Actually slings/juveniles aren't that expensive but an adult female may be up in price.Get one...nice spiders!...peace

>>although G.pulchra is known for it's docility,it's still a spider and quite capable of biting.One should learn to recognize signs that a spider is upset/angry..in general just not wanting to be messed with.Threat postures such as rearing up are a good indication to leave it alone and try again later.Most spiders tend to be more defensive/aggressive in their enclosures...protecting themselves and their territory.

Last edited:

Gillian

Arachnoblessed
Old Timer
Originally posted by Rabies_Kitten
I'm a newbie in here (suprise..) and I've been looking for a beginner's tarantula. I've been thinking (and probably getting one) Brazilian Black.
I've heard that it's pretty expensive so I want to hear about your experiences..
Are males more docile if handling? (meaning if cleaning the tank)

And so on, thanks for now...

-Rabies Kitten-
Hiya..:)