behavior question

StephanieH

Arachnosquire
Old Timer
Hi,

I have a strange question. Can you sex a t by behavior? I'm new to the hobby and only have 5 t's right now. :D, but my list is getting longer by the day. Anyway, I have an OBT(freebie), B. smithi, B. angustum, A. new river, and G. pulchra all are 2-3" except the angustum is a female. What I'm wondering is they all stay in their hides all the time except for the new river who is walking every time I look at him. I've read that the males are wanderers. I didn't know if anyone has researched this or if it is even relavant.

Steph

Steve Calceatum

Arachnolord
Old Timer
It does sound like an interestngly novel concept, but wanderlust is hardly an indicator of a male.

If that were the case, then my psycho P. cambridgei (named Desirae), and my G. rosea (named Charlotte) would be have to have a name-change. Both of those two are always out and about.....Charlotte just hanging out, and Desirae plotting my death. Conversely, Dusty (my male P. irminia) has no wanderlust at all, and is just as calm as my Avics. The sex of all three of these T's was confirmed by molt.

StephanieH

Arachnosquire
Old Timer
I would like to know how you she is plotting your untimely demise, in case I need to watch mine

Mack&Cass

Arachnoprince
Old Timer
Males only tend to wander after they've matured, and the wandering is them wanting to get out and get it on.

Cass

PrimalTaunt

Arachnobaron
Old Timer
Correct me if I'm wrong but I believe that I read somewhere (I forget if it was in here on in TKG) that if you have a T in an enclosure that is far too big it could spend an unusually large amount of time roaming around getting used to it.

mandipants

Arachnoknight
Old Timer