I'm New: Help Needed Please

dwdeloach

Arachnosquire
Old Timer
Let me start by saying I am new to the wonderful world of Tarantulas. I have read quite a bit and have purchased my first. I am new to this forum and am seeking advice from those with more experience.

My new addition is a B. Smithi. My T is still young appx. 2" leg span. I will try to attach a photo. I have questions that are probably quite common.

I was told in another forum that I do not have a B. Smithi, but a B. Emilia because of the triangular marking on the carapace. Can someone please look and tell me if I do? It believe it to be B. Smithi without all the color and hair yet.

My T is in a 5 gallon aquarium on 4" of a 50/50 organic compost/vermiculite mix. Temp stays around 75, humidity between 60-70%. Within a couple of days a nice burrow was dug and has completely sealed itself in. As you see in the picture, there is a pink bald spot on the abdomen. I do not believe a molt is soon.

I know some T's dig burrows including mine. When will it unseal itself? This has been going on for about 2 weeks now. Apparently it is eating because the crickets are disappearing during the night. I assume it is coming out of the burrow and then resealing itself again???

Let me know if anything seems wrong with the current setup and conditions. They were obtained from different caresheets from around the internet.

Sorry for the long post. Any comments and help would be appreciated.

Aragorn

Arachnobaron
Old Timer
That is a B. smithi! ;) It looks just like mine, exept mine is younger and I can see a black patch of hair on top rear of the abdomen, and the rest have very little hair scatter through out with tan skin. You see the red markings on the knees that look like a flame with fainted yellow makings...that is a redknee.

"The enemies will never Aragorn come to the throne of Gondor!";P

Aragorn

Arachnobaron
Old Timer