What's a good desert species?

scorpionguy77

Arachnopeon
I have two emperors and was looking to get a desert species IF my tax return ever comes. I was wondering if anyone had suggestions for a fun, hardy desert scorp? I really like the look of the Parabuthus transvaalicus, but I am not sure about the "spitting" part, lol. I have had the emperors for 6 months, so I am still a beginner at scorpions, though I have taken care of spiders of all sorts and a few mantids all with great results and my emperors seem very happy, so maybe something for a "newbie" would be best too. Suggestions?

Bayushi

Arachnoprince
Old Timer
Hadrurus arizonensis, the desert hairy scorp is a good beginner desert spevies.

Roblicious

Arachnodemon
Old Timer
Hadrurus arizonensis, the desert hairy scorp is a good beginner desert spevies.
Any desert scorpion thats from the US is easy to take care of IMO, but the Desert hairy is the best, try to get an adult, the only hard part is their molting especially at the 3rd/4th instar 'hump'

Michiel

Arachnoking
Old Timer
Then I would not go for P.transvaalicus yet. I have had H.spadix in the past and I found them very attractive. They are active diggers (at night) and have a good size. The only "problem" seems to be breeding them.....

peterock44

Arachnopeon
Smeringurus mesaensis - Dune scorpion might also be a good choice. never had one but i've heard they are a good transition species. supposedly bottled greased lightning fast, but a pretty harmless sting

Roblicious

Arachnodemon
Old Timer
Dune scorpions are neat, I just picked up one last week, he is already digging tunnels anywhere and everywhere

H Spadix is nice too, if you know what a desert hairy looks like, they look just like those with more of a black/darker back

Roblicious

Arachnodemon
Old Timer
yeah i got one of those too, they are pretty neat, they dig burrows and scurry around alot

they can be in slightly more humid then desert hairy not by much just 10 more

2wire

Arachnopeon