Newcomer asking for help!

Vilurum

Arachnosquire
Hi guys, first time posting on this forum so sorry if this is in the wrong section, or has been answered already.

I recently got my first scorpion, a flat rock scorpion and would just like to know if I am looking after her correctly.

I have a heat mat on half of the enclosure (bout a 10 gal) and it changes from 70-76 degrees, and on this side I have a hide for her to go in.

On the other half I keep a water bowl with pebbles in it and have the humidity at 50-70%.

For the substrate I have about 2-4 inches of fine sand.

I have will be offer a large cricket twice a week, and if refused, wait another week.

Now she is quite aggressive (doesn't put me off, shes quite cute xd) and doesn't even like me having my hand in the cage, will she settle down or will it be a love hate relationship throughout our lives?

Thanks guys, and gals for your time.

Animalia

Arachnoknight
Old Timer
Everything sounds ok. Im not an expert, and know little about flat rock species..

Only thing is I might try a heat lamp over matt... If it gets hot the scorpion will just remain under the rock and essentially cook itself... Heard about this with borrowing species..

Might want to look into that, Not for sure of its dangers, but just a thought.

Always nice to have another member in the hobby!!! best of wishes:)
-Ark-

Irene B. Smithi

Arachnobaron
Old Timer
hmm, it you have a heat mat in the enclosure take it out... unless you want to cook your little guy...if that so, I'd deep fry... might taste better.

Do a heat lamp if you need it, have layers of rock (like slate or something) that it can crawl between. they are pretty spiffy little guys.. enjoy him!!

Vilurum

Arachnosquire
Oh just to clarify, the heat mat is on the back, on the outside ^^