My T seems hungry all the time...normal?

Jenthevet

Arachnosquire
Old Timer
Hi there,

I am a newbie here and to owning Ts. I just acquired 3-year old G. pulchripes a few days ago from a couple who were moving and looking for new homes for their pets. When the previous owner gave the T to me in a small critter carrier, she put 6 crickets in there and the T immediately grabbed and toted three around with her. Two days later, my husband found a wounded katydid and placed it onto its back in the cage and the T ate it, and then later the same day she ate another cricket. I've been reading that they don't need to eat but a few times a week, and she looks healthy, but I'm wondering....she seems hungry all the time, and is this normal? Will she simply not eat if she is not hungry? I don't want to over- feed her.

Thanks a bunch for your help!
Jen

Alexandra V

Arachnosquire
Congrats on the T, G. Pulchripes are one of my favorites. :) the fact that it eats everything doesn't surprise me that much, they're known to have amazing feeding responses and great appetites (one of the reasons they're my favorite lol).

Just 3-4 crickets a week for a 3 year old G. Pulchripes is enough, these guys can overeat if given the chance, they don't usually know when to stop haha. I'd stick to just offering the amount that I want it to eat to avoid arachnid obesity :p

xhexdx

ArachnoGod
Old Timer
Don't feed wild-caught stuff to your spider.

Feeding that species once every week or two is plenty.

Stan Schultz

Arachnoprince
Old Timer
... I am a newbie here and to owning Ts. ...
Welcome to the hobby!

Welcome to this forum!

May you live to enjoy these fantastic, fabulous creatures half as long and half as much as we do!