Captive display tarantula's vs wild display?

koldaar

Arachnoknight
Old Timer
I was pondering this issue the other night in the shower: We have certain tarantula's that are great display specimans in captivity, but in the wild are they also out on display? Or do they spend more time in burrows, hides, etc? I had an A. genic that was out ALL the time. If I were to go into its home habitat would I see that A. genic outside it's burrow more often than not? Does having tarantula's in captivity do something to them to make them display tarantula's? (ie: no predators or real competition for food)

Quazgar

Arachnoknight
Just a thought, and I am by no means an expert and this could be completely wrong, in which case people can feel free to correct me: I would guess that looking for tarantulas out in the wild, even those species that don't hide often in captivity, would lead to much fewer sightings than in a cage/tank/whatever setup. Part of this, I would think, would result from the wild burrow being one small part of a large environment. By the time you got close enough to observe said tarantula, the vibrations/noise from your feet would like have scared them back into the burrow. In captivity, on the other hand, their burrow is one (relatively) large part of a small environment (i.e. the tank) and what goes on outside the tank is less stressful to the spider than what happens immediately around the burrow in nature. I think the spider "knows" to a certain extent that it can't get out of its tank and thus other stuff can't get in, and the entire tank becomes a part of its burrow.

Amoeba

Arachnolord
:p I bet a Haplopelma spp is still a pet...erm...non captive hole in the wild. I've heard the B vagans in So. FL. burrow. same with the Aphonopelma.

But I'm also sure that Mature males go a wandering lookin for lovin

I've seen pics on boards about "bird eaters" wandering around on the forest floor.

DannyH

Arachnobaron