Rose Haired Chilean Trantula help

phillip s

Arachnopeon
Im very new at this, my 1st time. i have a 10 gallon tank and the guy at the pet store told me to use sand and a heating pad at the bottom of the tank, i also have a fairly large peice of bark propped up safley for the spider to crawl under if so. i also have a small water dish in the tank. along with a small desktop lamp over top the cage for lighting , if anyone could help on any good advice? im just curious as the right way to set up my spideys enviroment

Jeremya972

Arachnopeon
You don't need the light.. T's can handle cold better than heat.. It could cook them if it got too hot.

Last edited:

phillip s

Arachnopeon
its a very dim light, it doesnt get to hott. ill most likely just keep it off an just have it be room lighting

xhexdx

ArachnoGod
Old Timer
Don't use sand.

Remove the light.

Remove the heat pad.

Use this site's search and read the stickies.

Stan Schultz

Arachnoprince
Old Timer
First...
WELCOME TO THE HOBBY!
AND WELCOME TO THIS FORUM!

Im very new at this, my 1st time. ...
RULE NUMBER 1: NEVER TRUST A PET SHOP WHERE TARANTULAS OR ANY OTHER ARACHNID IS CONCERNED!

I urge you to read:

1> Stan's Rant. Pay particular attention about not trusting pet shops and Internet Care Sheets. And take everything that you read on these forums with a grain of salt. If the opinions aren't backed up by some reputable source by wary. Very wary!

2> Care and Husbandry of the Chilean Rose Tarantula. It needs rewriting (maybe later this winter), but it's still substantially correct.

... i have a 10 gallon tank ...