New pede - few pics

HairyCelt

Arachnosquire
Hey all - just a quick Hello and a few pics of my new pede, a 5"(-ish) S.hardwickei.

I've got a few years experience of Ts and scorps under my belt abd ad vowed never to get into pedes due to their bad reputation. Then I saw the hardwickei for sale..... Oh my dear God, what a stunning creature and surprisingly chilled out (though it sure can move when it wants to).

I'm keepng it in a simple setup with lightly damp coir substrate and the obligatory cork bark hide. Temp is in the 75 - 80F range.

I've read from other posts that they make use of height when available and was wondering whether anyone's tied them in the 18x12x12" Exoterra Terraiums?

One question - I've had it a week now and it's showed no interest in food at all. (I've only tried twice - a couple of black crickets on Friday last and a dubia roach earlier this evening - I don't want to disturb it too much during its settling in period). I'm putting the lack of appetite down to the stress of shipping and / or an imminent moult. Does anyone have any other suggestions regarding appetite or environmental conditons?

Being from the Indian sub-continent, do they benefit from a humid / dry cycle or is maintaining them on a damp substrate permanently the way forward?

Any advice to keep it healthy and "happy" would be gratefully receved.

Few pics:

DSC01882 ul.jpg DSC01874ul.jpg DSC01876ul.jpg DSC01891 ul.jpg headul.jpg

KyuZo

Arachnoprince
Old Timer
Hey there and welcome to the hobby of keeping centipedes. if it's refusing food twice, then it's likely that your pede is approaching a molt. altho, if you are going to attempt to feed it again, then prekill the cricket or roach completely (no moving legs at all) and leave it in with the pede overnight.