Mopani wood and millipedes

StreetTrash

Arachnoknight
I ran a search but didn't find anything on this topic. Basically, I'm new to keeping millipedes. I never had much interest in them, but recently acquired some Ivories. They have been fascinating to watch, and I think I'm hooked. I know that some tropical hardwoods can be dangerous to humans if you happen to breathe the saw dust. I have a few unused pieces of Mopani wood and some grape wood. Just wondering if there is any danger putting it in with my new buddies.

Thanks for any help.

Nate

zonbonzovi

Creeping beneath you
Old Timer
I've seen the unsealed Mopani used in aquariums so I can only assume it's safe? Helpful link:

http://www.caudata.org/cc/articles/wood.shtml

Grape tends to mold in all but the driest setups. I'm personally not that concerned with mold in millipede setups and it doesn't seem to effect the Ivories although I wonder if excessive amounts would be detrimental.

Camden

Arachnobaron
Old Timer
I would use it..It's an aquatic wood and it's very dense and hard, I use it for my cockroaches to climb on. I love it, it's pretty cheap as well.

SDCPs

Arachnolord
I would use it..It's an aquatic wood and it's very dense and hard, I use it for my cockroaches to climb on. I love it, it's pretty cheap as well.
Maybe I'm thinking of the wrong wood (I thought that stuff was pretty pricy), but it depends on what you think is cheap. I just go collect some wood for my millipedes...wood they can actually eat (better for em) so I get a better product at literally a fraction of the cost.

Camden

Arachnobaron
Old Timer
Maybe I'm thinking of the wrong wood (I thought that stuff was pretty pricy), but it depends on what you think is cheap. I just go collect some wood for my millipedes...wood they can actually eat (better for em) so I get a better product at literally a fraction of the cost.