First OBT?

Jeepergirl1992

Arachnopeon
So, I am fairly new to the T hobby. I have 4 T's, my first was a G. rosea that I got back in September, and since then I have acquired a B. smithi sling, an adult A. metallica, and an A. avic. Of course, these are all pretty easy to handle, they don't mind when I clean around in their cage, and they are pretty docile and stationary.

Well, I just found a 10 gal tank at my local Savers for 5 bucks, so naturally I am itching for a new addition to my collection. I usually try to search around online in the ads for people who are trying to get rid of their spiders so that I get spiders that need new homes with keepers that understand how to properly care for them...and...I came across someone selling their adult femal OBT.

So, here's my question. How long should I keep T's before I am ready for a more aggressive sp? How different is caring for an OBT or other aggressive/fast/etc sp from caring for the few T's I already have? What advice can you guys give to get ready and feel prepared and confident about caring for a more challenging spider?

Any feedback is greatly appreciated.

JadeWilliamson

Arachnoknight
I got mine about a year into the hobby (January 2012) and they are crazy fast and crazy mean. The very first day I had her, I was trying to feed and she bolted under my bed. It was the scariest thirty minutes of my life getting her out. Luckily I had just cleaned my room, or I'd have lived in fear until I found her.
If you give them adequate room to burrow/hide and web (they are notorious for being heavy webbers like most other baboons) you shouldn't have too much trouble. A ten gallon should be sufficient if you fill it with 4-6" of substrate and keep it fairly dry. Even if you give her a hide she may burrow some other place. It's up to them. I just hope you have a lock for your tank so nobody can accidentally get into it!

BenjaminBoa

Arachnosquire