Why heat treat?

Lexx

Arachnopeon
Okay, maybe a little misleading. I know why you would heat treat your soil prior to putting it in the enclosure but is it really necessary. I use organic topsoil and coco fibre with my T's and do not heat treat. Just wondering what others have to say on this, heat treat or not necessary?

jayefbe

Arachnoprince
Old Timer
I personally don't think there is any need to heat treat any packaged substrate. They should be free of potentially harmful microorganisms and fungal spores will find their way in no matter what you do. I would only heat treat if I was taking soil directly from natural sources. Is there any other reason to heat treat substrate?

Lexx

Arachnopeon
I've been keeping exotic pets for more years then I like to admit, lol. Granted I'm rather new to T's my approach has always been the same, a naturalistic one, in that I like to replicate the animals natural habitat as much as possible. I tend to look at the microorganisms found in soil as naturally occurring so I don't get as worried as I would with say pesticides or growth agents, things like that. I know there are those that will say the organisms in the soil I purchase in Canada don't come from the areas my T's are from. I get all that, this is just my two cents, and why we have forums like this to share opinions. Hope to hear other ones on this topic though.

SamuraiSid

Arachnodemon
When using sphagum moss I heat treat, but not for the bricks of coco coir.