Diurnal Species?

oldmanofthesea

Arachnoknight
I hav a c. hentzi colony and a colony of emperors. I knew they are both nocturnal. I am new to keeping invertebrates and I am wondering if there are any scorpions that are more diurnal, not too hot and easy to buy in the US. Thanks in advance. ron

snippy

Arachnobaron
Parabuthus villosus has been described as diurnal, see the following paper

It's venom is however not among the weak but at least the black morph is rather calm.

Regards
Finn

tdark1

Arachnoknight
Old Timer
My collection is tiny compared to lots of people here, esp. Snippy... However, I have noted that my Parabuthus Villosus (black phase) female is constantly out. She is always trolling around her cage, or digging a new scrape, she has even moved an entire slab of cork from one end of the cage back to the other.... She doesn't seem to burrow or care about building a burrow, beyond just a scrape. When I don't see her, is usually when shes basking herself on the hot end of the cage in her scrape after a meal (gets to around 95-100 on her basking spot). However, please note, I hardly see my male (ever). He is always under a scrape at either the hot or the cool end of his cage...

Cheers,

Rob

P.S. - All of my Andro's hide all day long, be it in burrows or under scrapes...

oldmanofthesea

Arachnoknight
Thank you for the information. I thinks P. Villosus maybe a little "hotter" than I feel comfortable with, but I will research them a bit more. Maybe somebody else will chime in with another suggestion. Thanks again, Ron

LLLReptile

Arachnopeon
Hey Ron,